Home > Equipment > iPad in Action

iPad in Action

I was able to see an iPad in action in the real world during a brief demonstration.  I like the concept.  The VPN worked.  You need to purchase the VNC app.  The think worked as advertised.  I just cannot justify the price, nor is it handy if you need to do any amount of typing.

Price:  $600 for the 32GB Wi-Fi only version.  Holy Cow!  $729 if you want the Wi-Fi + 3G, and the service plan is sold separately.  I am a fan of convenience, but at what price? 

Typing.  Like the iPod, typing is a pain.  If there is any amount of note taking or “administrating” that is necessary, you must be a “hunt & peck” master.  I’m old school in that I know how to type, using all ten fingers (or 8 fingers and 2 thumbs).  Apps that let you poke at icons and shows results is nice.  I just need to learn how to write apps.  Maybe if I learn I can earn some money. 

Anyways, I like it.  I just need to justify the cost and with the lack of budget at our location we won’t be getting one or two any time soon. 

Cheers!

Categories: Equipment
  1. November 18, 2010 at 23:49

    Hey, I attempted to email you pertaining to this post but aren?t able to reach you. Please e-mail me when get a moment. Thanks.

  2. November 19, 2010 at 11:39

    An email to bill at eisenhamerengineering.com should work. I’ll check spam filters to see if it was blocked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

