Home > Equipment > Nautel NV Software Update

Nautel NV Software Update

Loaded in version 2.2 of the software. A nice jump from 1.3, eh? Anyways, the update rolled out as planned. Some cosmetic fixes and I noticed email notification is available. I will look into this and see how that works. I sure do like the connectivity aspect of new equipment.

In addition, I spend some time on the phone with Nautel and discussed the efficiency aspect of solid-state transmitters. I proceeded with doing some adjustments to improve the efficiency and I had some good results. I am going to write a tech sheet on the procedures I did. The bottom line is I raised the efficiency from 51% to 55/56% dropping the ambient temperature almost 4 degree Celsius. Stay tuned for this one! (if I’m lagging, please post a comment of this as a reminder.)

Categories: Equipment Tags: ,
  1. Sebastien
    October 2, 2010 at 08:50

    You mean that you cannot have better than 56% of efficiency??

  2. October 2, 2010 at 10:22

    At that time, yes. I have made some adjustments and close to 60% or better. You must consider that they are solid state running at 1/2 power analog. This combination is not efficient. As updates are applied it changes a bit.

    I am to address this beginning next year. HD is not efficient.

    Bill

  3. Sebastien
    October 3, 2010 at 07:28

    Ok, I understand, so you are IBOC and analog?

  4. October 3, 2010 at 07:49

    That is correct. IBOC makes for some fun. When I run analog only the boxes perform very well, though I do not have numbers in front of me. I know the heat dissipation is significantly less than when the HD carriers are on.

    Regards,
    Bill

  5. Sebastien
    October 5, 2010 at 16:12

    Thanks!

  6. October 6, 2010 at 06:18

    No worries. I’m always happy to help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

