Home > IT, Management > Disable Protexis LIcensing Service (PSIService.exe)

Disable Protexis LIcensing Service (PSIService.exe)

I noticed a warning on my Win7 machine about updating the Protexis Licensing service.  I obviously asked myself, “WTF?”  It turns out it is a third party service installed by Corel!  Those idiots allow a spyware type app to check on DRM.  I found a link to disable it and Corel runs fine.  I found these instructions to disable it without affecting the application (Corel) that installed it here:  My Digital Life

I guess other vendors use this too.  I just don’t like information on how my computer is used to be sent to an unknown party.  This is my home machine and my wife finds PaintShop a handy little app.  I will now add Protexis to my list of things to search for when my computer begins to boot slowly or have other issues.

If you have had some issues with this service I would like to hear about it.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Categories: IT, Management
  1. awesomeeric22
    November 15, 2012 at 12:14

    well i see this is two years ago but wanted to send a thank you your way. at first i was just wondering was protexis was, and you answered that, and also i had been having trouble with my external hard drive running slow and I couldn’t figure out what was going on, and now i see from this it could be protexis. i had run a few spyware programs and they couldn’t permanently delete some of the spyware. so it’s good to know i can plug my hd back in without worrying about it crashing. thank you very much sir!
    -Eric

  2. May 10, 2013 at 05:20

    Thank you! I didn’t know this was spyware. I also get it from Corel… Now it is removed from my PC.

  3. May 10, 2013 at 11:01

    I think I picked up this from a Corel install my wife did. It was software purchased in box, too. The post was based on research I did online. Is it still an issue out there?
    Do you recall the DRM issue with Sony DVD players? Same idea, they want to track what and how you use their product while really capturing other things you do. I know it slowed the computer down.
    I need to run another sweep to see if it has come back.

    Bill

  4. PeterV
    November 28, 2013 at 09:10

    Or, one could just go to the horse’s mouth, and find out the facts:

    http://www.protexis.com/support/software-user-support-center/psiservice/

    I have nothing to do with the company, but I was researching which services my Win7 PC was running and which ones I could safely stop or disable. I do have Corel’s VideoStudio Pro installed, but I have no idea what other applications I have installed use that service.

    – Peter.

  5. Ivy
    March 24, 2014 at 07:44

    Thanks for no help. You wrote “I found these instructions” and a link to 100 pages we can look through. I love techie info with no real reference or other information. blah

  6. Ivy
    March 24, 2014 at 07:46

    excuse me, make that 951 pages! OYE! And PeterV your link is dead. Why this page comes out on top of my search from bing I have no idea, it should be on the bottom or not listed at all………..have a nice day

  7. March 24, 2014 at 08:18

    This post has been up for 4 years now. I wonder how old this info is. People still hit it and comment, so it is a concern to them. If anyone has any updated info please share.

  8. timo
    March 31, 2014 at 17:46

    hey at the link you can just enter in the search box: PSIService.exe
    the methods are given for Win etc step by step it is a tad obtuse or unclear
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/how-to-disable-and-uninstall-protexis-licensing-service-psiservice-exe/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

