Home > Equipment > Marantz PMD570 Firmware Update

Marantz PMD570 Firmware Update

I had the opportunity to upgrade the firmware of our compact flash recorders this week. All in conjunction with a new morning show and the fact you cannot find many CF cards less than 2GB. Even a 4GB card was not read. After a check of the D-MPro website, I was a bit miffed that the machines needed to be sent in. After a kind email to technical support and a confirmation that I was “tech savvy”, they allowed me to download the necessary files and application to install the update. Thanks!

I proceeded to do the installation. I can tell you right now that the process is not “easy” or for the weak of heart. Actually, it was not too bad, but I can see why they recommend shipping the unit to them as the update application they sent is fairly complex. Out of respect, I am not at liberty to name the application except to say it is a developer toolkit. Just knowing that you may guess at how you can get into trouble.

I followed their instructions to the “T” even when the screen shot was in Japanese! I pushed the two updates, one for the microprocessor and one for the DSP. I did 4 machines and all of them behaved. I also discovered what the little, recessed switch is next to the RS232 DB9. The combination of stuff could get a novice in deep “S”. Each machine took at least 10 minutes to complete as loading the one update, for the MPU, took the most time and the special application. The DSP update was quick and was actually read from a CF card making that portion of the update easy.

Thanks again for trusting I would not screw up D-MPro Tech Support!

PS- if you have the DN-C640 CD players, there is a firmware update that corrects that “disk error” message when one does not exist.

Categories: Equipment Tags: , ,
  1. November 11, 2010 at 11:06 | #1

    For those interested, there is a firmware update to the PMD580 recorder. This was recently released: 11/3/2010. Go to: http://www.d-mpro.com/users/folder.asp?FolderID=4347&Tab=FAQ

  2. January 25, 2011 at 05:22 | #2

    I don’t suppose you could confirm the FW versions you found before and after the update?

  3. January 25, 2011 at 07:45 | #3

    I, unfortunately, cannot find the pre-update versions. At the time of the article, I had updated to DSP version 3.9 and MCU version B0024.

    I am pretty sure I had an MCU version of B0023 prior to the update.

    Again, the reason for the update was to accommodate the larger compact flash cards. Our folks now use cards of at least 4-8GB. Very few cards under 4GB exist now.

    Bill

  4. February 17, 2011 at 01:35 | #4

    Hi Bill,

    Firstly, thanks for your blog. It’s a great source of information.

    I have several Marantz PMD-570′s which need updating to DSP v.3.90 & MPU v.B0024. Marantz UK sent me the latest DSP update, but refuse to send me the flash development kit and firmware to update the MPU – Instead wanting to direct me to their support partners who want to charge me £45 a unit for something I’m confident I can do myself.

    Is there any chance that you have a copy of these that you could email me please?

  5. February 17, 2011 at 08:56 | #5

    I sent you an email. Let me know if it works for you.

    Regards,
    Bill

  6. Raphael
    May 2, 2011 at 02:39 | #6

    Hello
    may be you can help me..
    I make the updating for the PMD570 ( v.3.90 & MPU v.B0024) but the 8go Kingston card still do not work..
    Do you know the exactly list of compatible card after the upsate ? kingston work ?
    Thank you very muche. (we have a lot of pmd570.. and it’s a big problem for us to find some card..)
    Raphael

  7. May 6, 2011 at 12:42 | #7

    Raphael,

    Pardon the late response. I must have missed your question. Interesting situation. We have tested with Sony, Lexor, and even Maxell. We have run 8GB cards and I believe there are a couple of 16GB Sony cards out there. Make sure if you purchase a large capacity card the transfer rate is high, 20M/b or greater. A cheap card may not work. I am finding there are many different labels on these cards and they mean different things. I have also noticed that a card labeled “high capacity” may not mean high transfer rate, just that it can hold a lot of data. When working with audio, and video for that matter, you want the highest transfer rate capable. Check the specs on the Kingston card and look for another that has a higher rating.

    Hope that helps!

    Bill

  8. May 11, 2011 at 07:56 | #8

    Hi again Bill!

    Good news. I’ve finally managed to update our 4 Marantz PMD570′s to the latest firmware and DSP.

    We suffered real problems getting the update software to work on our work laptops as our IT department has a very stringent policy on who can access what. Really I needed to see the Windows Mangement screen to decipher what COM port to use.

    In the end, I brought in my own Windows XP laptop and installed the Renasas Firmware software.

    I was using a USB – Serial cable which was very short. As a result, I extended it with a serial male to female cable. However, when trying to update it kept failing to make a connection.

    In the end I had to remove the 2 screw nuts from the serial port and plug the short USB – serial cable directly into the Marantz.

    The firmware update proceeded as normal and got about halfway through before my old laptop started running low on power – despite being plugged in! It chose now to develop a fault in its PSU connector.

    In trying to wiggle the power, the USB cable fell out midway through the update. I thought I’d killed the recorder as it wouldn’t turn on despite being switched out of update mode.

    I gave it another go and it worked all the way through.

    I continued to update all the others without any such dramas.

    Sorry for the long post, but you did say you wanted to know how I got on :-)

    Thanks again for all your help and patience. As a result, we will get much more mileage out of these units without paying a ridiculous sum of money to do so.

    Being a charity, that’s greatly appreciated.

    Thank you Bill for helping us when even marantz didn’t want to know.

    Keep up the good work.

    Rich

  9. May 11, 2011 at 08:11 | #9

    Great news even though you had a couple of hurdles to jump!

    No worries on details, I like details. I file them in my short memory spaced brain and pull them up in some weird neuron firing mode when needed.

    We’ve managed to use 16GB cards, have you tried 32GB? 8GB seems to be our standard at the moment.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Bill

  10. June 14, 2011 at 01:15 | #10

    Hi Bill,

    Just thought I’d update you – It appears that I’ve nuked one of our recorders as a result of this update – Despite it seeming to go fine when it was updating and rebooting OK – It now just cycles on, all the LCD icons light up for about 30 seconds then reboots – Stuck in an endless loop. I’ve tried reflashing it (software says updated successfully), updating the DSP via the compact flash card and also restting the PROM.

    Nothing seems to remedy its cycling state. I guess I’, going to have to send it back to Marantz’s service partners to fix.

    Oh well – 3 out of 4 updated successfully, so at least we saved some money there!

    Will let you know the outcome.

  11. June 14, 2011 at 04:13 | #11

    Ah! That is not good. Have you looked to see if there is a factory reset? I’ll look, too, but you may be right and it will have to go in. So close.

    Good luck,
    Bill

  12. July 22, 2011 at 11:51 | #12

    Richard :
    Hi again Bill!
    Good news. I’ve finally managed to update our 4 Marantz PMD570′s to the latest firmware and DSP.
    We suffered real problems getting the update software to work on our work laptops as our IT department has a very stringent policy on who can access what. Really I needed to see the Windows Mangement screen to decipher what COM port to use.
    In the end, I brought in my own Windows XP laptop and installed the Renasas Firmware software.
    I was using a USB – Serial cable which was very short. As a result, I extended it with a serial male to female cable. However, when trying to update it kept failing to make a connection.
    In the end I had to remove the 2 screw nuts from the serial port and plug the short USB – serial cable directly into the Marantz.
    The firmware update proceeded as normal and got about halfway through before my old laptop started running low on power – despite being plugged in! It chose now to develop a fault in its PSU connector.
    In trying to wiggle the power, the USB cable fell out midway through the update. I thought I’d killed the recorder as it wouldn’t turn on despite being switched out of update mode.
    I gave it another go and it worked all the way through.
    I continued to update all the others without any such dramas.
    Sorry for the long post, but you did say you wanted to know how I got on
    Thanks again for all your help and patience. As a result, we will get much more mileage out of these units without paying a ridiculous sum of money to do so.
    Being a charity, that’s greatly appreciated.
    Thank you Bill for helping us when even marantz didn’t want to know.
    Keep up the good work.
    Rich

  13. July 23, 2011 at 07:58 | #13

    Jerry,
    I will send a link when available. I am mobile all weekend, so stay tuned.
    Bill

  14. July 23, 2011 at 08:22 | #14

    Ok.
    Tnx Bill

  15. December 6, 2011 at 18:13 | #15

    Hi Guys,

    Richard did you have any luck with the PDM670 you nuked as I have 2x units here. 1 updated ok with the latest MPU & DSP software but i made a mistake leaving the DSP software update on the SD Card i was using and put in the second unit without doing the MPU first and now it does the same thing, just keeps rebooting , same symtoms as you descibed above. what did you end up doing with the nuked one ….. Bin … or any suggestions anybody

    Thanks
    Ross

  16. December 15, 2011 at 21:17 | #16

    Ross,

    Been busy (a good thing I guess). Wow. Have you figured out how to recover this misbehaving unit? There must be some sort of factory reset or maybe re-do the steps of the update. I’ve never tried on one of these as I have been fortunate enough not to kill it, but I have been able to save other equipment by starting from scratch.

    If anyone else has resurrected theirs from disaster, please post. Knowledge is power. And if anyone sent theirs to DM-Pro for service (factory service center), how much and how long of a turn-around?

    BE

  17. July 5, 2012 at 07:32 | #17

    Hi Bill,
    Please help me I have updated the DSP before the MCU and now the pmd570 is restarting.
    Can you sen me the software to flash with the serial cable.

    It’s rely urgent . PLEASE.

  18. July 5, 2012 at 07:53 | #18

    I will send an email with a link. I do not know if it will work if the machine is in the state you describe, but you can try.
    Please verify your email address by sending me an email directly.
    bill@eisenhamerengineering.com

    Bill

  19. July 5, 2012 at 08:03 | #19

    In addition if I cannot get to my email try this link to Renesas site: http://am.renesas.com/products/tools/flash_prom_programming/fdt/downloads.jsp#

    Bill

  20. Bruce Hoffman
    October 2, 2012 at 17:58 | #20

    Hi, I came across this thread while searching for info about the pmd570 (considering purchase for church use). I’m quite surprised that d-mpro has no mention of this model; no support; no archive; it’s as if it never existed. Kind of scares me away…. my question is what is the biggest flash card this unit will accept without the firmware update? Thank, appreciate the informative dialog.
    Bruce

  21. October 2, 2012 at 18:50 | #21

    The PMD570 is a discontinued model. It was released at least 6 years ago or so. The 580 replaced it along with another under the Denon name. Tascam also makes a flash recorder.

    Search the web. BSW, Full Compass, Broadcasters General Store, B&H, and others for the latest models. New ones use SD cards rather than CF cards.

    Bill

  22. Bruce Hoffman
    October 3, 2012 at 15:36 | #22

    Thanks for the info. I’m working on a shoestring budget, trying to get something to replace our cassette recorder ( and subsequent process). I’ve been looking at Tascam’s compact flash units as well, trying to stay under $250. Thanks again.
    Bruce

  23. Morgan McNeely
    January 9, 2013 at 18:05 | #23

    Could you send the firmware update for the PMD570 to me? Thanks.

  24. January 15, 2013 at 10:34 | #24

    Morgan,

    May I ask where you are located? I need to keep an eye on what can be done outside the US. BTW, forgive the delay. Been a busy start to the new year!
    Once confirmed, I will give you a link.

    Regards,
    Bill

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

